Brontoforumus Archive

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:


This board has been fossilized.
You are reading an archive of Brontoforumus, a.k.a. The Worst Forums Ever, from 2008 to early 2014.  Registration and posting (for most members) has been disabled here to discourage spambots from taking over.  Old members can still log in to view boards, PMs, etc.

The new message board is at http://brontoforum.us.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 ... 28

Author Topic: Calling All Internets  (Read 35761 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

yyler

  • Tested
  • Karma: 10
  • Posts: 2210
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #140 on: October 28, 2009, 08:34:29 PM »

Powerpoint does it all. I learned it in 3rd grade. I got in trouble for my presentation.
Logged

yyler

  • Tested
  • Karma: 10
  • Posts: 2210
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #141 on: October 28, 2009, 09:01:24 PM »

To be honest I don't know how to do it with the current version of PowerPoint, which uses the new, incredibly terrible and confusing Microsoft Office ribbon. But it should just be a couple settings somewhere on the animation tab. I am pretty sure I could use one music file for the entire presentation using PP2000 or whatever, so you should be able to now. I am almost certain I did that. You might still have to embed it on the first slide though and then hide it. Just make sure your slide transitions are set to none or whatever you deem appropriate.

It's actually a useful application, and before the damned ribbon, was surprisingly easy to use.
Logged

Mongrel

  • Emoticon Knight-Errant
  • kodePunc Team
  • Tested
  • *
  • Karma: -65340
  • Posts: 17029
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #142 on: October 31, 2009, 09:41:18 PM »

This is totally retarded but: Does anyone have, or know where I can get OpenOffice v1.1.x?

I have some old graphics files that I need to work with and they ONLY seem to want to work with Open Draw 1.1. I mean, I don't really need all of OpenOffice 1.1, just the OpenDraw part.

There's too many parts of my file that just won't work in OD 2.1.

Neither Google, nor OldVersion.com have been really helpful (I was actually blown away that Old Version doesn't keep Open Office available).
Logged

TA

  • Tested
  • Karma: 29
  • Posts: 3219
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #143 on: October 31, 2009, 09:47:05 PM »

This might be it?

I know you say OD 2.1 won't work but OpenOffice appears to be up to 3.1.1, is it possible the newer versions might be able to open those things if only long enough to save them in a more recent format?
Logged
Do you understand how terrifying the words “vibrating strap on” are for an asexual? That’s like saying “the holocaust” to a Jew.

Mongrel

  • Emoticon Knight-Errant
  • kodePunc Team
  • Tested
  • *
  • Karma: -65340
  • Posts: 17029
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #144 on: November 01, 2009, 10:11:27 AM »

Aha!

Perhaps this will work better. Then kew suh!
Logged

Mongrel

  • Emoticon Knight-Errant
  • kodePunc Team
  • Tested
  • *
  • Karma: -65340
  • Posts: 17029
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #145 on: November 01, 2009, 10:38:17 AM »

Silly question.. does anyone here know any Russian?

I know that "crazy" in Russian, roughly transliterates to "Bezoomniy", but I'm going to go out on a limb that that's not what's used casually (as it has several syllables). Anybody know what someone would actually say in casual conversation?

Just wondering.
Logged

yyler

  • Tested
  • Karma: 10
  • Posts: 2210
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #146 on: November 05, 2009, 03:28:55 AM »

I don't know about Russian.

I was wondering if any of you guys have ebooks or pdfs or whatever of the Player's Handbook/MM/anything from D&D 3e. NOT 3.5.

There is a fair chance I might be joining a game elsewhere and the DM seems to want to use strict 3e, and I can't fucking find it anywhere. The changes in 3.5 are (as far as I am aware) completely insignificant in any meaningful sense, but he could prove stubborn. Help?
Logged

Envy

  • Tested
  • Karma: -8
  • Posts: 2286
    • View Profile
Logged

Lottel

  • You know that's right
  • Tested
  • Karma: 81
  • Posts: 3723
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #148 on: November 05, 2009, 10:29:01 AM »

I want to call Envy a dick here but... Google is usually the answer to that sort of request.

Ah well.
Logged

yyler

  • Tested
  • Karma: 10
  • Posts: 2210
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #149 on: November 05, 2009, 11:17:46 AM »

I don't know how I didn't find that. Probably the wrong search terms. Thanks.
Logged

yyler

  • Tested
  • Karma: 10
  • Posts: 2210
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #150 on: November 05, 2009, 11:28:54 AM »

Shit shit shit. No, that still has only the 3.5 Player's Handbook and MM.

Fuck it. I am going to make him do 4e. It isn't impossible to find 4e stuff.
Logged

Doom

  • ~run liek a wind~
  • Tested
  • Karma: 46
  • Posts: 7430
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #151 on: November 05, 2009, 11:47:51 AM »

Tell him to grow up and use 3.5e. The changes were for the better(Two Weapon Fighting feats not being convoluted, Haste balancing, making the base classes flow a bit better.)
Logged

JDigital

  • Tested
  • Karma: 32
  • Posts: 2786
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #152 on: November 06, 2009, 06:30:23 PM »

You can use the 3.0 SRD. Anything missing from the SRD didn't change in 3.5.
Logged

Lottel

  • You know that's right
  • Tested
  • Karma: 81
  • Posts: 3723
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #153 on: November 13, 2009, 03:57:41 PM »


This is what my taskbar looks like without the programs running.



And this is what it looks like after the programs are open.


Any idea how to change what icons the program use or, even, better, some sort of registry edit so it doesn't change the icon at all?
Logged

TA

  • Tested
  • Karma: 29
  • Posts: 3219
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #154 on: November 13, 2009, 04:03:10 PM »

Don't pin them to the taskbar?
Logged
Do you understand how terrifying the words “vibrating strap on” are for an asexual? That’s like saying “the holocaust” to a Jew.

yyler

  • Tested
  • Karma: 10
  • Posts: 2210
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #155 on: November 13, 2009, 04:08:49 PM »

That's not a solution?

I'd guess they are using the actual .exe icon at that point, so... ugh. On Macs, there is a way to go into actual applications and just change their icon resources. I don't think it is quite as easy to do on Windows. durrr see below

What are you using to do that, the .png replacement?
Logged

Royal☭

  • Supreme Court Judge President
  • Tested
  • Karma: 88
  • Posts: 6301
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #156 on: November 13, 2009, 04:10:33 PM »

This is simple.  Click the Start > Programs > WhateverProgramYouWant then right-click > Properties > Change Icon.  You then have to unpin/repin it to the taskbar.


This method is almost unchanged since Windows 3.1 

Lottel

  • You know that's right
  • Tested
  • Karma: 81
  • Posts: 3723
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #157 on: November 13, 2009, 04:18:10 PM »

Well, did what you said, Constatine and it is still the default icon when the program runs. That is what I want to change. That little icon that is the default icon.

No matter how I change the icon, when the program runs, it goes back to the default. Program turns off, icon goes back to what I set it as.

I think Yyler was on the right track. Or what you said doesn't work on Windows 7. Or I am retarded.
Logged

Royal☭

  • Supreme Court Judge President
  • Tested
  • Karma: 88
  • Posts: 6301
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #158 on: November 13, 2009, 04:19:50 PM »

I hate to use the old "Works for me" line, but it really does.  Maybe it's because I have Aero disabled?


Let's employ science to see if that's the case.

yyler

  • Tested
  • Karma: 10
  • Posts: 2210
    • View Profile
Re: Calling All Internets
« Reply #159 on: November 13, 2009, 04:23:03 PM »

But Aero rules!

Lottel, one weird thing I noticed about the start bar icons is that they are usually shortcuts to other shortcuts. I forget where they are actually stored... maybe C:\Windows\something or Users\You\Start Menu\something. I can't remember nor can I figure it out right now.

If you were doing shortcuts before, try just changing the icon of the exe?
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 ... 28